The Overlord

People, Places and Things

Acolytes: Initial level of those training to be priests.

Black Triangle: Symbol of the Priests of Syrinx (looks like the ubiquitous Pyramids)

Dread: The horrid, mysterious creatures which live in the Outlands, against which stand the city and village walls, without which humanity would soon perish. Dread is both singular or plural, like ‘deer”.

Dreadfall: The cataclysmic event during which nameless monsters rose from unknown origins and almost eradicated humanity from Gaia. Dreadfall refers to the event; Dread refers to the creatures themselves.

Inquisitor: Red eyed and tattooed priests who hunt down heretics.

Megadon: Sometimes called simply ‘the capital’, it is a large, sprawling metropolis, the largest city on the planet.

Moons: There are two moons: a nameless Major Moon and a smaller Minor Moon.

New Earth: Name of the PCs world, of which Megadon is the capital.

Novice: Acolytes who have graduated to a higher rank, but are not yet priests.

Off-worlders: Little is known of the peoples and worlds outside Gaia, though legend has it there are other colonies throughout the star system. The Priests keep such knowledge to themselves and to some elite citizens, but such details are forbidden from non-citizens.

Outlands: The wild jungles and deserts beyond the gated villages and cities of Gaian populations.

Overlord: Immortal Emissary of the 3 1/2 Gods and leader of the Priests of Syrinx, the theocratic government which rules the star system.

Pentarchs: Archpriest rulers of the 5 megacities, the chief of which is Megadon, the capital. The other citystates are: Arkoon, Belkan, Osskill, and Zed.

Priests: The ruling class

Red Sun: Symbol of the Federation.

Tech Levels: Generally like Aliens, Divergent, Battlestar Galactica, Hunger Games — normal gunpowder guns and generally tech like today, with occasional slightly-higher tech (in the form of advanced medicine, hovercrafts, bioengineering, etc.) in the Pentarch cities. In the Worker towns, and in the outback, you generally have low-technology. Of course, with the lost empires pre-dating the apocalypse, you have pre-tech — with potentially Gamma-world style high tech features. Such pre-tech items are very rare.

  • Pre-tech: Technology dating from before the Dreadfall. Outlawed save for use by the Priests, who keep it secreted away.
  • Post-tech: Used by citystates and their citizens. Generally late-21st century Earth technology level. Weapons are still standard guns, though of higher quality.
  • Low-tech: Used by non-citizens. Generally late-1800s level technology such as steam engines and six-shooters.

The Three and a Half Gods: It is said that “No man has seen the Three and a Half Gods and lived…save the Overlord.”

Wildings: Exiles who live (not very long) outside the walls of those under the Overlords rule.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>